CFA: Overview

The CFA Program, administered by the CFA Institute, helps investment and financial professionals to build a strong foundation of advanced investment analysis and real-world portfolio management skills.

Complete the program and you’ve earned the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) credential, one of the most respected and recognized investment designation in the world.

About Our Institute

To enter into the CFA Program, candidates must pay a one-time registration fee in addition to the required enrollment fees for each Level. CFA Institute reference material and a partial mock exam are both included with candidate registration and enrollment.

Level I

  • Format: multiple-choice
  • Questions:
    • 240 equally weighted questions
    • Morning Session: 120 questions; Afternoon Session: 120 questions
    • Each question has 3 answer choices
    • On average, 1.5 minutes should be allocated for each question

Level II

  • Format: item set or “mini cases” – Each item set contains a vignette (with an average length of 1.5 pages)
  • Questions:
    • 20 item sets or “mini cases”
    • Morning Session: 10 item sets; Afternoon Session: 10 item sets
    • Each item set has 6 multiple-choice questions
    • Exam is graded for 360 points, corresponding to the number of minutes on the exam

Level III

  • Format: Essay, item sets, and multiple choice
  • Questions:
    • Morning Session: 8-12 essay questions;
    • Afternoon Session: 10 item sets with 6 multiple-choice questions in each
    • Exam is graded for 360 points, corresponding to the number of minutes on the exam
Eligibility criteria for the first level is given below:

  • The candidate must possess an international travel passport
  • The candidate must be a graduate or be a final year bachelor’s degree student.
  • The candidate must possess four years of work experience
  • It is a three-year postgraduate program, studied through correspondence. And on completion of the course, one can become a member of the ICFAI. The admission to this course is based on an entrance exam. This examination basically tests a candidate’s aptitude for the course. The course content is specified according to financial analysis. So it is essential that a person opting for this course has a natural aptitude.
    Examinations are conducted four times a year in test centers all over India

CFA Course Syllabus

Level I:

  • Ethical and Professional Standards
  • Quantitative Methods
  • Economics
  • Final Reporting and Analysis
  • Corporate Finance
  • Portfolio Management
  • Equity Investments
  • Fixed Income
  • Derivatives
  • Alternative Investments

Level II:

  • Ethical and Professional Standards
  • Quantitative Methods
  • Economics
  • Financial Reporting and Analysis
  • Corporate Finance
  • Equity Valuation
  • Fixed Income
  • Derivative Investment
  • Alternative Investments
  • Portfolio Management


Level III:


  • Ethical and Professional Standards
  • Behavioural Finance, Individual Investors, and Institutional Investors
  • Capital Market Expectations
  • Asset Allocation
  • Fixed Income and Equity Portfolio Management
  • Alternative Investments, Risk Management, and the application of Derivatives
  • Portfolio: Execution, Evaluation and Attribution, and Global Investment Performance Standards


Our Students Reviews

I have joined this course to have a deep knowledge in accounting domain, and I am getting my knowledge enhanced here. It has been a good experienced till now.


This course will be giving me all the required knowledge in accounts domain and will be helping me to make my career in the accounting profile.


This course will be providing me good knowledge about the accounting concepts. Also it will be giving be exposure to the practical as well as theoretical aspect of accounting as a whole.